My Prayer for 2014

I am a sinner. I’m plagued by lust, hate, anger, impure thoughts, idolatry, lies, and variety of other sins that I can’t think of. I don’t deserve anything from God. I have repeatedly broken his laws; I am a rebel. The things I want to do for Him I don’t do; and the things I don’t want to do, I do. I battle with my flesh everyday. The world tells me to conform to its pattern everyday. Satan whispers in my ear and accuses me when I sin. Oh, what can I do? I am a wretched man. Who shall rescue me from….well….me?

Romans 7:24-25

24 What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?                                                                                                                                                                    

25 Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!

 

Thanks be to Christ Jesus. My hero. My king. Jesus, as I write this tears begin to well up in my eyes because you are so, so wonderful. Lord,you see the condition of man and how we dishonor. Yet, you loved us so much that you would die for us. We do not deserve you. Still, you want us. You want me? How could this be, Lord? You clearly see my sins and how lost I am, but  you still desire me?

Psalm 8:4                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 What is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?

You desire me so much that you would be persecuted, beaten, rejected, harmed, and die for me in order that I my be reconciled to God.  Jesus you lived the life I should have lived and died the death I should have died.  I was on the road to perishing for all eternity, but you took the punishment for me on Calvary. Thank you Jesus. Thank you Lord for loving me so. I cannot repay you, and I do not deserve you. Lord, I shall serve all the days of my life. I will die so that I shall gain. Lord, I love you. I will live to glorify you. I will spread your gospel, and tell people about the glorious name of Christ Jesus.

Thank you God for sending your only begotten Son to reconcile and redeem this broken world. Father, I’m unworthy of you, but because of Christ Jesus you see me as blameless and pure. Who’s love could be greater than yours? What mere earthly blessing that you bestow upon me could compare to the blessing of salvation? When I read the gospel about how you died for me so that wouldn’t perish in Hell, I just get lost for words. Thank you for your grace and your mercy. Lord, I praise your name.

  Psalm 145                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    I will exalt you, my God the King;
    I will praise your name for ever and ever.
 Every day I will praise you
    and extol your name for ever and ever.

Lord, thank you for doing so many miraculous things in my life in 2013. I realized how loved I am by you, and I fell in love. Lord, you  vigorously sought me and gave me a new heart. Lord, I pray that in 2014 that you lead and direct me in all areas of my life. Help me continue to fall in love with you. Help me cling to You and your glorious gospel. I struggle with so many things, but I understand that you are sanctifying me and molding me into the man you designed me to be. Thanks you Jesus.

Lord, I pray that you show me how I can spread your gospel and give honor and praise to your name. I want more people to know you and love you, Lord.  God, I really want to lead someone to Christ this year. A friend, a family member, or a complete stranger. I want to do this not so that I may boast or get any glory–kill the pride in me. No, Lord I want to do so that you may be glorified.  In Luke 15:10, Jesus says: “In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Lord, I pray that you use me so that I can be involved in that rejoicing. Lord, you have placed many people in my life who don’t know you–some of whom have being going to church for years. Let them come to know you in 2014. Lord, please use me to help them see you, and come to know you. God, I pray that you give me the gift of evangelizing and teaching so that I may spread the gospel by your grace.

Lord, help me reflect you love more this year than every before. Lord, I want to be more like Christ Jesus and less like Marsellas Williams. I want to be less prideful, stubborn, lustful, bitter, petty, filled with impure thoughts, selfish, arrogant, conceited, puffed up, anxiety-ridden, idolatrous, mean, and what ever else that I can’t think of that makes my character less like Christ. Lord, I want Galatians 5:22-23:  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Lord, I want to be a disciple for you. I want to glorify you in every area of my life so that others my come to know you. I can’t do this without you; Holy Spirit change me.

Lord, but most of all let me trust you more in 2014 than ever in my life. Since the end of November, anxiety has come over me many times ,and Satan has used my doubts to dampen my joy in Christ. It has been very, very difficult at times. As Christians, we go through seasons where we feel Christ is not there. We ask ourselves, is God listen to me? Does he see me crying? Is he holding me during this storm? Satan will easily tell you that God is not with you; that he does not care about you. But the devil is a lie. God has promised that he will never leave us or forsake us. Romans 8:38-39 says it best: “38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Lord, I know your with me always. I have prayed to you about many things that give me anxiety–relationships, what to do after law school, my debt, my goals, my problems–and I know you will give me all my needs. Let me not be hasty because answer do not come on my time table. Let me wait on you and take rest on your promises.

I don’t know who’s reading this, nor if anyone will. If someone is reading this that doesn’t know Christ, I pray that he draws you to Him in this new year. Being a Christian is not easy. Jesus did not promise health, wealth, and prosperity. He promised suffering, rejection, and tough times. He promised an eternal home for us that believe that He is the way the truth in the life. Words cannot express the coming joy that is in store for those that hope in Him. Though I do desire his earthly blessings, I will tell you nothing can compare to the joy that awaits me when I die and be with Him. Heaven is our home, not Earth. He is the more, He is the longing, He is the joy that you truly desire in this world. I hope that in 2014 you come to know Him; I hope and pray he seeks you so that you my seek Him. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

